Historic villa, currently used as a hostel, located on the outskirts of the urban fabric of the city of Florence, on the slopes of the Fiesole hill, surrounded by a large park-garden almost entirely destined for camping.
The building, used as a hostel, is located in the north-east quadrant of Florence, between the districts of Campo di Marte and Coverciano. The complex is composed of the main building, divided into two adjoining buildings arranged in a L-shaped floor plan, the villa and the bedroom wing, and a secondary building, the former limonaia (Lemon House), with longitudinal development used as offices. The buildings are immersed in the park-garden, almost entirely used as a campsite. The hostel has over 300 beds, the campground has more than 50 pitches and some bungalows.
The first layout of the villa was originally called “Villa Monte in Camerata” or “Villa Talpa”. In 1427, it was owned by Bernardo del Maestro Francesco of the Ridolfi Calzolai family. In 1469 the Ridolfi family put it up for sale due to financial difficulties.
Since then the villa has had several owners. In 1649 it was inherited by Luca di CamiIlo degli Albizi, whose descendants remained owners for two centuries and brought great changes, transforming it into a prestigious villa.
Villa Camerata is located on the edge of the urban fabric of the city of Florence, on the slopes of the hill of Fiesole, a small and charming town famous for its Roman Theatre and its archaeological museum, in a context made up mainly of noble residences. The area is very attractive due to the proximity to the city centre and the high landscape value, represented by the parks, gardens and fine trees present.
The Villa is well connected to the historic city centre.